Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Recurring Event Event Series: TASTING GOD: Poetry of the Incarnation

Date

January 18 at 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm EST

Location

Virtual

Wednesday Evenings | January 18 – February 8

8:15pm – 9:30pm Eastern
7:15pm – 8:30pm Central
6:15 – 7:30pm Mountain
5:15 – 6:30pm Pacific

Register Here

TASTING GOD: Poetry of the Incarnation

What does it mean for God to be described as a grain of wheat, thrashed to pieces and baked into bread? Or a living book, with our names written in the heart of the body? Central to Christian faith is the idea that God became human in the incarnation. We will explore poetry that helps us experience the beauty and strangeness of this central belief. Likely authors include John Donne, George Herbert, Langston Hughes, and Luci Shaw.

 

Facilitated by:

Dr. Hannah Eagleson
Ph.D in Early Modern Literature, University of Delaware; MA in Liberal Arts, St. John’s College
Chesterton House Director of Graduate & Faculty Engagement

Register Here

Chesterton House Painting